Share your last.fm loved tracks on facebook
Frequently Asked Questions
What is LastfmSocial?
LastfmSocial is a free service that automatically posts the tracks you love on last.fm to facebook.
- Automatic posting of loved tracks.
- Customization of post message and links.
- Album art shown with each share/post.
- Links to iTunes and Amazon so that you and your friends can access your favorite music. This is a great way to show support for your favorite artists.
- Compact mode: For users with a lot of shares, this option creates a compact post to Facebook that only includes minimum info so that your wall isn’t overloaded.
How does it work?
LastfmSocial uses last.fm’s API as well as facebook’s graph API to periodically check for your loved tracks on last.fm and post them on facebook. The application checks every 5-10 minutes for updates and if one is found it is automatically posted to your facebook wall.
How do I register?
- Visit lastfmsocial.com
- Enter your last.fm username in the field
- Click on the 'Connect with Facebook' button
I have registered successfully and nothing happens!
LastfmSocial will post tracks that you love any time after registration. Keep in mind that if you’ve previously loved a track it won’t be shared. Only new tracks loved for the first time are shared. You can always check out your loved tracks through the following URL by replacing [your username] with your last.fm username:
So for example the following URL shows loved tracks for user 'alefbetac':
Loved tracks do not appear at all
If you hide one of lastfmsocial’s posts from your Facebook wall, or if for some other reason lastfmsocial loses the required permissions, your loved tracks will stop appearing on Facebook. To remedy this, just visit lastfmsocial.com and login (disconnect first if necessary). Permissions will be granted once again to the application and loved tracks should continue to be posted to your facebook wall.
Some tracks are posted to Facebook and some are not
Facebook has a limit to how many posts an application can make during a set period of time (for example a day). This is not predefined but varies depending on several factors and in practice most users won’t reach that limit. If you do hit it, Lastfmsocial will be unable to add more posts to your wall for that day. Posts will resume after a period of time (usually a day). Unfortunately there is nothing anyone can do to vary this limit.
I’ve decided to hide a post on facebook and now no more shares are appearing
By choosing to hide posts from lastfmsocial you essentially recall permissions granted to post to your wall. To fix this, visit lastfmsocial.com and login to go through the connection process and grant permissions to post to your wall.
I have a feature to suggest
If you would like to suggest a feature please submit feedback by clicking here.
I keep getting an error on registration
E-mail me at info [at] lastfmsocial [dot] com and I'll look into it.
I love this app! How can I support it?
If you enjoy this service please consider donating here.